Wednesday, November 30, 2016

REVIEW/Litfuse Blog Tour: The Remnant by Monte Wolverton

About the Book

In the year 2069 the Apocalypse came and went, but Jesus didn’t show up, as some expected. Instead, a cataclysmic war, natural disasters and pandemics eradicated 90 percent of earth’s population. Now, in 2131, a totalitarian government rules the world from the majestic, opulent capitol of Carthage, Tunisia. Blamed for igniting the war, religion and religious books are banned. Citizens who will not renounce their religion are sent to work camps. Grant Cochrin, imprisoned in a bleak petroleum camp in what was once North Dakota, leads his family and friends to escape and embark on a long, dangerous quest for a Christian community. Their resource in this journey? A cherished page torn from the now banished Bible—a remnant of Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount handed down from Grant’s grandparents. What if there were an Apocalypse and Jesus didn’t return? What if the survivors found themselves living in a world ruled by a totalitarian government, where religion is forbidden and all religious texts have been destroyed? In The Remant, award-winning author Monte Wolverton tells the tale of a band of concentration camp escapees who trek through the lawless American wilderness on a quest for authentic Christianity, only to come face to face with an unthinkable dilemma. The Remant is a fast-paced story punctuated with dry satire, memorable characters and hard questions about religious institutions.

My Review

The Remnant sounded like an intriguing futuristic/scifi/dytopian tale which is why I requested to review it through the Litfuse Blogger Program. Alas, I found The Remnant to be quite disappointing. The premise sounded right up my ally. Definitely my cup of tea. However, I found the writing style to be a bit disjointed. The novel as a whole was too short, I feel the author could have given us more especially with the ending. The ending is what really made this story not enjoyable.The story could have been fleshed out more. I also found myself not caring to much for the characters and particularly not really caring what happened to them. The world building even lacked for me as well. This could have been an amazing story, but it fell short.

Friday, November 25, 2016

REVIEW: Jesus Over Everything by Clayton Jennings

About the Book

Because Jesus is Everything, We Must Put Jesus Over Everything

Discouraged, frustrated, and disillusioned by a watered down version of Christianity, many people are turning away from the Church and their faith. They recognize that neither a sinful world nor a lifeless religion can satisfy their deepest longings and their hunger for something real. The answer is simple it s Jesus. 
It s Always Been about Jesus 
In Jesus Over Everything, Clayton Jennings strips Christianity down to its bare foundations, revealing the only Truth that has the power to change your life and transform the world Jesus Christ. In this bold and unapologetic call to action, Clayton examines Christ s teachings and shares testimonies from countless revivals across the country, where thousands are surrendering their lives to Jesus and being transformed by the Gospel. 
Jesus is everything, so He must be over
 everything. It s time to put Him first in your life and begin to live in the incredible freedom and divine purpose found only in making Christ your King! Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, till the day I die!"

My Review

Jesus Over Everything is the debut release of Internet Phenomenon Clayton Jennings. I discovered Clayton's videos and spoken words around a year ago and quickly became engrossed in his ministry and looked forward to every new video he put out. Clayton's videos are simple, full of heart, compassion, and bold truth telling. Qualities I look for in someone who is in ministry. In his debut, a book I had been waiting for since he announced he was writing a book, Clayton bring Chrisianity down to the basic truths and that the answer to everything is not religion or be a part of a church. It is simply Jesus. I really enjoyed Clayton's personal and intimate writing style. He brought the truth with Jesus Over Everything. I recommend it!

Monday, November 21, 2016


Just dropping a quick note to all my readers old & new. Starting tomorrow November 22 I will be doing a 2-DAY Thanksgiving series I call Blog-Ful. The name is probably a little lame, but it's all I could come up with so I'm running with it. Day 1 will be Books I'm Thankful For and Day 2 will be Authors I'm Thankful For. And everybody is welcome to participate as well. Just make sure to to give credit to my blog.

I'll see you guys tomorrow!

REVIEW: Go by Preston Sprinkle

About the Book

Disciple-making is a passion of many, as it should be. It is, after all, our great commission. But much of contemporary discipleship is informed by instinct, and as such it is vulnerable to the whims and trends of the broader culture, which can take us further away from our biblical model and mandate.

Drawing on a 2015 Barna Group study of the state of discipleship in the United States commissioned by The Navigators, bestselling author Preston Sprinkle provides a holistic, biblical response for discipleship, providing accessible tools for all those who are engaged in making Christ-followers in the 21st century. Sprinkle points pastors, church leaders, and frankly, all Christ-followers, to a discipleship that is responsive to this most current research and accountable to the model of Jesus and his earliest followers, who counted making disciples as their most important work.

In an extremely practical fashion, Go helps us to discern, from the Scriptures and from exemplary disciple-making ministries, what discipleship is and is not, what it has become and what it can still be.

My Review

Go by Preston Sprinkle is a book all about Discipleship. Now, I have read plenty of other books on this subject, mostly due to attending Bible College for a few years. Go had a lot of great quotes and creative solutions. Although I will say that much of what I read in Go wasn't new to me at all. I have just read so many books on this subject that I don't think anything could be new to me. Was it a good book that gave good ideas and solutions, yes. Was it a book that I really needed to read, no. But it will be a great addition to the all of the other disciplship books out there.

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

REVIEW: Unblemished by Sara Ella

About the Book

Eliyana has always recoiled from her own reflection in the mirror. But what if that were only one Reflection—one world? What if another world existed where her blemish could become her strength?

Eliyana is used to the shadows. With a hideous birthmark covering half her face, she just hopes to graduate high school unscathed. That is, until Joshua hops a fence and changes her perspective. No one, aside from her mother, has ever treated her as normal. Maybe even beautiful. Because of Joshua, Eliyana finally begins to believe she could be loved.

But one night her mother doesn’t come home, and that’s when everything gets weird.

Now Joshua is her new, and rather reluctant, legal Guardian. Add a hooded stalker and a Central Park battle to the mix and you’ve gone from weird to otherworldly.

Eliyana soon finds herself in a world much larger and more complicated than she’s ever known. A world enslaved by a powerful and vile man. And Eliyana holds the answer to defeating him. How can an ordinary girl, a blemished girl, become a savior when she can’t even save herself?

My Review

Unblemished was a refreshing and thrilling YA Fantasy from debut author Sara Ella. It tells the story of Eliyana (I love that name by the way.) who has this scar on her face that makes her so insecure, but it may be that scar that gives her strength. Her mother goes missing and things begin to get strange. There's battle between good and evil and romance.

Unblemished is one of those reads that leaves a big imprint on your heart. This is a book that is perfect for fans of Urban Fantasy and the Angel Eyes trilogy by Shannon Dittemore.